Scuttlebutt Website SCUTTLEBUTT
Who's Online WHO'S
Log in LOG IN         

Forum Index: .: Dock Talk:
John Biddle inducted in America's Cup Hall of Fame
Team McLube


The Publisher

Aug 26, 2008, 9:25 AM

Post #1 of 1 (10889 views)
John Biddle inducted in America's Cup Hall of Fame Log-In to Post/Reply

CONTACT: Jasmin G. Blackmar, America’s Cup Hall of Fame, 401-253-5000
Dana Paxton, Media Pro Int’l for Rolex Watch U.S.A., 401-849-0220

Celebrating John Biddle the 2008 Inductee

Bristol, Rhode Island (August 26, 2008) - The America's Cup Hall of Fame, located in Bristol, Rhode Island, announces a special format for its annual Induction Dinner. To emphasize the grandeur of the America's Cup, past, present and future, a unique program will be presented by Gary Jobson, John Rousmaniere, and John Biddle. Mr. Jobson, one of the event’s Honorary Chairmen, is organizing previously unviewed video to convey outstanding elements of this best-of-the-sport event, now at the 157 year point in its continuum of superb racing of the world's state-of-the-art yachts. Film themes include "The Best of the Cup in Film and Video" and "The Cup's Top 10 Greatest Moments”. Distinguished members of the America's Cup Hall of Fame will join in this year's special presentation. John Biddle (Jamestown, R.I.), who was the very best at filming and making highly popular presentations all during the 30-year 12 Meter era, will be inducted into the America's Cup Hall of Fame to join a select few previously chosen as chroniclers of the Cup. The black-tie Induction Dinner, supported by Rolex Watch U.S.A., is scheduled for October 23, 2008 at the Metropolitan Club at One East 60th Street, New York City. Distinguished Honorary Chairmen of the event are Sir James Hardy of Australia, Bruno Trouble of France and Gary Jobson of the U.S.A. Tickets are available by contacting the America’s Cup Hall of Fame at 401-253-5000 or by email to

America’s Cup Hall of Fame President Halsey C. Herreshoff, who will preside over the Induction Ceremony, commented: “The induction of John Biddle recognizes the importance of those who preserve and present the special traditions of sailing’s greatest competition, the America’s Cup. John Biddle was the absolute leader of this activity all during the 12 Meter era of The Cup. He filmed every race in Newport, and made more than 1,000 presentations to audiences worldwide. As we celebrate 157 years of racing challenges, it is an honor to congratulate John Biddle and his family on behalf of the America’s Cup Hall of Fame.”

John Biddle (1936 to present)
Spanning more than 40 years as the foremost yachting cinematographer-lecturer, John Biddle has sailed with Ted Turner, Dennis Conner, Ted Hood and dozens of other skippers on the U.S. east coast, Great Lakes, and west coast. He has raced to Bermuda 11 times, was aboard the winning yacht to Halifax in 1957, cruised among the icebergs off the coasts of Labrador and Greenland, sailed the SORC several times, and crewed aboard square-riggers in the North Sea.

Biddle pursued a life of sailing, travel and adventure, while at the same time making a living as a film-lecturer. Lean and fast moving, he was proficient at all things nautical including one-design racing and off-shore cruising or racing. He was thus able to combine his love for the sea and knowledge of sailing with a talent for film-making, resulting in 40 shows in 40 years, often highlighting the America’s Cup.

John Biddle’s 40-year film archives are capped by comprehensive film coverage of each America’s Cup event from 1958 to 1987 in 10 season-long episodes from early trials to the final races, during the 12 Meter boat years. Excerpts from these films will be featured in the Induction Program in New York City on October 23.

About the America's Cup Hall of Fame
The America's Cup Hall of Fame was created to honor the challengers, defenders, and legendary personages of the world's most distinguished sporting competition. The present prototype Hall of Fame is located in an historic building on the grounds of the former Herreshoff Manufacturing Company in Bristol, Rhode Island, where yachts were constructed for eight consecutive America's Cup defenses between 1893 and 1934. The Herreshoff Marine Museum, situated on this historic site, operates the America's Cup Hall of Fame.

Commencing with the first induction ceremony in 1993, 67 legends of the Cup have been selected for membership in the Hall of Fame. Candidates eligible for consideration include skippers, afterguard, crew, designers, builders, organizers, syndicate leaders, managers, supporters, chroniclers, race managers, and other individuals of merit. Each nominee is judged on the basis of outstanding ability, international recognition, character, performance, and contributions to the America’s Cup. The 22 members of the Hall of Fame Selection Committee bring a wealth of knowledge to the selection process. This illustrious international group is composed of persons intimate with the America's Cup tradition; they are especially committed to the integrity of the Hall of Fame. The America’s Cup Hall of Fame is honored to conduct its yearly induction ceremonies in locations worldwide.

The America's Cup Hall of Fame is dedicated to preserving and demonstrating the influence of America's Cup competition, for the purpose of education and the inspiration of excellence in the world of yachting. Sponsorship opportunities for this important event celebrating the Cup are available; please contact Peter Sterrett at the America’s Cup Hall of Fame at 401-253-5000 or

For more information, visit, or contact the Herreshoff Marine Museum at P.O. Box 450, One Burnside Street, Bristol, RI 02809-0450, Phone: 401-253-5000, Fax: 401-253-6222.

Selection Committee for the America’s Cup Hall of Fame
John S. Burnham, Chairman
Stuart Alexander
B. Devereux Barker III
Bruno Bich
Dr. William Collier
Bob Fisher
Halsey C. Herreshoff
Nathanael G Herreshoff III
Frederick E. Hood
Gary Jobson
William H. Dyer Jones
Bruce Kirby
John Van Bueren Lammerts
Stanley Livingston Jr.
Elizabeth E. Meyer
Peter Montgomery
Rob Mundle
Mauro Pelaschier
John Rousmaniere
Steven R. Tsuchiya
Tom Whidden
William G. Winterer

Hall of Fame Honor Roll of Members
Charles Francis Adams
James L. Ashbury
Charles Barr
J. Burr Bartram
Robert N. Bavier Jr.
John Bertrand
John Biddle (2008 Induction)
Baron Marcel Bich
Sir Peter Blake
Alan Bond
Dick Brown
Edward Burgess
W. Starling Burgess
Malin Burnham
Bradley W. Butterworth OBE
James E. Buttersworth
William F. Carstens
Dennis Conner
Russell Coutts
Briggs S. Cunningham
Laurie Davidson
Edward I. du Moulin
Sir Michael Fay
William P. Ficker
William Fife III
Henry Coleman Haff
Sir James Hardy
Nathanael G. Herreshoff
F.E. “Ted” Hood
Chandler Hovey
Sherman Hoyt
C. Oliver Iselin
George “Fritz” Jewett Jr.
Gary Jobson
Arthur Knapp Jr.
William I. Koch
Ben Lexcen
Sir Thomas J. Lipton
Harry “Buddy” Melges
E.D. Morgan
Henry Sturgis Morgan
Emil “Bus” Mosbacher Jr.
Frank J. Murdoch
Charles E. Nicholson
Sir Frank Packer
General Charles J. Paine
Alan Payne
Victor A. Romagna
Morris Rosenfeld
Stanley Rosenfeld
Tom Schnackenberg
George L. Schuyler
Commodore Henry Sears
T.O.M. Sopwith
George Steers
John Cox Stevens
Olin J. Stephens II
Roderick Stephens Jr.
Jack Sutphen
Bruno Troublé
R.E. “Ted” Turner
Stephen A. Van Dyck
Harold S.Vanderbilt
Gertrude Vanderbilt
George L. Watson
Thomas A. Whidden
The Earl of Wilton


Viewing the Forums: No members and guests

Search for (options) Contact Forum Forum FAQS Markup Tags Forum Rules