Oct 31, 2005, 6:42 AM
Post #2 of 9
Though I'm a student of the rules, I'm not the expert old friend Dave
Re: [Bird Man] Leward Mark Rounding Question
[In reply to]
Log-In to Post/Reply
Perry is. Of the many things I have learned from Dave is to read the
Section C (rules 18 & 19), preamble: To the extent that a Section C rule
conflicts with a rule in Section A or B, the section C rule takes
The starboard boat (S) has right of way (rule 10) and room (rule 18.2)
over the second and third port boats (P2 & P3) and possibly the first
boat (P1) as well. The text is unclear as to whether S has room on P1;
lets assume it does. P2's protest against S for gybing has no merit.
There is no rule against gybing, unlike 18.3 Tacking at a Mark. Just
the opposite, according to 18.4 Gybing, S is obligated to gybe. After
S gybes, it no longer has right of way (rule 11) but it is entitled to
room (rule 18.2 taking precedence over rule 11). Meanwhile P1, P2, and
P3 are all obligated to give S room to round which includes gybing.
Assuming it gets that room, there is no foul. If S does not get room
from P1, then P1 has fouled. If S is not entitled to room from P1 (no
overlap when P1 entered zone) then S has fouled P1. Had S continued on
starboard then S would have fouled P2 by not gybing per 18.4. P3 might
also get fouled when S does not gybe but if P3 is smart, it goes behind
S and rounds, passing both S and P2 while keeping its mouth shut.