Apr 16, 2012, 9:03 AM
Post #3 of 7
Mr. Leweck is absolutely correct. When Luna Rossa Swordfish was approaching the windward mark on starboard tack, Artemis was overlapped inside of her even though neither of them were close to the zone. When LR-Swordfish entered the zone, she was still overlapped with Artemis. This gave Artemis room at the mark which LR-Swordfish did not provide adequately. Even though LR-swordfish had to almost double tack to get around the mark which broke the overlap, Artemis retained mark-room because of the previous overlap when LR-Swordfish entered the zone.
Re: [The Publisher] Americas Cup Rules
[In reply to]
Log-In to Post/Reply
This comes from rule 18.2(b)(i) of the ISAF Racing Rules of Sailing AC Edition v. 1.08a which says,
18.2 Giving Mark-Room
(b) When the first yacht reaches the zone,
(i) if yachts are overlapped or bowsprit overlapped, the outside yacht at that
moment shall thereafter give the inside yacht mark-room.
Luna Rossa Swordfish was the outside yacht when she entered the zone which meant that she had to continue to give Artemis mark-room no matter what happens in the zone.
(Note: do not use this rule in club sailing. It is strictly for the America's Cup.)