Team McLube Forum Index: .: Dock Talk:
2008 YRA of LIS Annual Meeting

The Publisher

Dec 9, 2008, 11:58 AM

Views: 8351
2008 YRA of LIS Annual Meeting

For Immediate Release 12/08/2008
Contact: Andrea Watson
Phone/fax: 516-767-9240
Cell: 917-734-3144

The 2008 YRA of LIS Annual Meeting took place at the Larchmont Junior Yacht Club on Sunday, Dec. 7 at 5:00 pm. After a discussion of highlights of the Racing Rules changes for 2009-2012 led by William Kirkpatrick, and a slideshow by Mark Washeim of Doyle Sails, Long Island titled “An Introduction to the New Breed of Ocean Racing Monohulls”, President Robert Kendrick welcomed all to this year’s meeting. Walton Alder presented the new slate of officers which was unanimously approved: Officers: Robert Kendrick, President, Lloyd Harbor YC; Kevin Dailey, New York YC and Bernard Armstrong, Riverside YC, Vice Presidents; Leigh Sterflinger, Lloyd Harbor YC, Treasurer; Brenda Lewis, YRALIS, Secretary. Executive Committee: Thomas Boyle, American YC and Mark Parry, New York YC, Class of 2009; Jeff Ohstrom, City Island YC and Quentin Thomas, Douglaston Yacht Squadron, Class of 2010; Jamie Ewing, Cedar Point YC and Peter Gould, Stamford YC, Class of 2011.

At the conclusion of the Annual Meeting, President Robert Kendrick, with the help of Past President James Farrell, awarded the 2008 one design and handicap trophies. Four Special Discretionary Trophies were awarded this year. Adam Loory, Huguenot YC, won the David Pryor Sportsmanship Trophy for his involvement with the Intercollegiate Offshore Regatta, hosted by Storm Trysail and Larchmont YC and Expressly for Fun regatta at Huguenot YC. The Intercollegiate Offshore Regatta started in 2004 with 5 boats and grew to include 36 boats and 318 collegians in 2008. The Expressly for Fun regatta is a port-to-port racing weekend emphasizing family and friends participation. Raymond Redniss, Stamford YC, won the Roger H. Shope Trophy for excellence in race management. He has managed some of the most prestigious regattas in yachting, including the Vineyard Race, Block Island Race Week, Northern Ocean Racing Trophy, and Dorade Race for JSA. American YC and Larchmont YC were jointly awarded the Arthur P. Davis – Beach Point Yacht Club Trophy for outstanding achievement in running the U.S. Sailing’s Independence Cup, the national championship for disabled sailors and considered the most significant special event of the year. Special mention was made to the event co-chairs: Bill Sandberg (American YC), Siobhan Reilly (American YC, and Button Padin (Larchmont YC). The Ned Anderson Achievement Award, the YRA’s highest honor, was awarded to CAPT. Eric York Wallischeck, USMMA, for this involvement with the YRA spanning 25 years, serving as Secretary, Vice President and President of the YRA. During his tenure he assisted in shaping the role of the YRA by providing guidance on issues including high-speed ferries, mandatory PFD use, changing in use of rating rules, and the overall evolution of the sport on Long Island Sound.

For complete list of 2008 trophy winners and photos from the Annual Meeting, go to

# # # #